Can Samoa call itself a true democracy now? It is now a ‘one party state’ with the returning  HRPP Government in full control of parliament because of the failure to get the required eight seats to form a Opposition party. Incumbent Samoan Prime Minister Tuilaepa Sa’ilele Malielegaoi led a complete demolition of the Opposition in Samoa’s 2016 General Election held last Friday. HRPP won 47 seats with to Tautua Samoa’s two seats. Deputy leader, Aeau Dr Peniamina was the only Opposition MP to retain his seat. Tuilaepa has since named veteran politician, Fiame Naomi Mata’afa as his deputy. One more woman MP will be added, taking the number of seats in Parliament to 50. HRPP has been in power since winning the 1988 election, subsequently winning in 1991, 1996, 2001, 2006, 2011 and a record seventh term in 2016 which will take their reign past 30 years. Tuilaepa has been prime minister since succeeding the Tofilau Eti Alesana in 1998, a record reign as PM of 18 years. READ MORE.

To find out the full history behind the history making HRPP party read here.

Source: Asia Pacific Report